Trying Hashnode as an alternative to Substack

I recently wrote my first post in Substack, Getting Started With Nix And Haskell, and it ended up getting a lot more views than I was expecting! So far so good, but I am not happy that Substack won't let me do code syntax highlighting. I was searching for ways to do syntax highlighting and ran into Hashnode's pitch as an alternative to Substack for tech writers, Hashnode vs Substack. That looked pretty good, so I am going to duplicate my first article here, and if it's a better all around experience I might do all my subsequent writing here.

Update

So far I ran into my first issue, there is no syntax highlighting for nix or julia in hashnode yet. Since I plan to write a lot about nix, julia, and haskell I only get one out of three, so it's not quite ideal yet. I submitted a feature request to add syntax highlighting. I am hoping it's an easy change in their end.

Second Update

The team was very responsive and they already added syntax highlighting for both julia and nix, so I guess I found my writing platform, and I'm moving officially to Hashnode! Here is my post republished here, Getting Started With Nix And Haskell, note the glorious syntax highlighting!